The Funk

Sometimes it happens. The Funk. There are times when it takes you by surprise and there are times when you can feel it coming. I’ve heard it called The Darkness, The Deep… Depression is personal and adaptive. Everyone has a name for their depression. Mine is The Funk.

I’m coming out of mine, now, but it has been hovering since December. Maybe even earlier if I wanted to analyze more… which I don’t. Well, I DO, but it’s something I’m trying to get away from doing, since it’s my gateway down the rabbit hole.

In December, we moved from Florida to Oklahoma. From what I can tell, that’s what started this one. We moved and haven’t really stopped. Everyone else has settled in, but I just can’t get my feet under me. I haven’t sewn anything. I’ve barely created… I spent so much time looking forward to my space and have yet to utilize it. Why? The Funk.

But enough is enough. The Funk lies because it does. That is how it thrives.

IT. LIES.

Knowledge is power. If I know anything, it’s that depression LIES.

Be kind to yourself, Love. You deserve it. (This is for me as much as it is for you. Take it in as much as you can.)

-Elaine

Leave a Reply

